Become a member

70th Annual Awards Dinner has been hailed a great success

Posted 8 March 2016

Our 70th Annual Awards Dinner has been hailed a great success, drawing together 80 guests to celebrate the achievements of the 2015 club championship winners.

Held at the White House Hotel & Restaurant, Rhuallt, the event featured an inspiring talk by the Welsh born former WRC Co-Driver, Nicky Grist accompanied by his lovely wife Sharon. Invited guests also joined us from Clwyd Vale, North Wales, Broughton & Bretton and 116 car clubs to celebrate the club’s milestone.

The evening was opened by the Master of Ceremonies and club honorary member Rikki Proffitt, with a moments silence for absent friends. Rikki then proceeded to give a short eulogy for one our founder members that sadly recently passed away, Mr. Frank Williams. Frank was recognised for his commitment and dedication that he gave to the club throughout his earlier years, from being a Club Chairman and later Life Vice President. As most of our members of today wouldn’t remember Frank as a club member, but would have known him for his successful career as ‘Speedsports Photography’. He will be sadly missed.

A three course meal was followed by an after dinner speech from guest speaker, Nicky Grist who after welcoming everyone, lead with a toast to Rhyl & District Motor Club for 70 years in the sport. He then continued to capture all the guests with a fascinating talk reflecting on his years as a former WRC rally co-driver to drivers such as Juha Kankunnen and the late Colin McRae.

Whilst many members came away with silverware, presented by Nicky Grist and club President, Arthur Jones, special awards included 22 year old Osian Owen winning the newcomer award, ‘Les Hewitt Memorial’ trophy for his dedication and commitment to the club and Dave Jones on winning the ‘Jack Romain Memorial’ trophy for services to the club.

Jamie Wallis, winner of the award at last year’s presentation said, “Osian has shown great enthusiasm and dedication to the club since he joined in 2014. He has not only organised and competed on club social events, he has also competed on many National B events promoting Rhyl & District Motor Club. It is fair to say that he is worthy of the award.”

Club Chairman, Paul Jones added, “I am proud of all our members and congratulate award winners for their efforts in promoting the club through competition across the UK & Ireland. The best award of the night had to be the ‘Jack Romain’. Dave Jones has been a very dedicated member over the years from a general committee member to Chairman, Life Vice President and more importantly a Director of the club. As Dave chose to stand down from office this year, I felt it was appropriate to acknowledge the commitment for his services over the many years. It was fair to say that the members agreed by showing their appreciation with a standing ovation when Dave collected his spoils.”

The celebratory atmosphere continued after the prize giving with a disco, which was thoroughly enjoyed by the guests. A raffle on the night also managed to raise £350. Huge thanks must go to the members involved in the organisation for such a successful and enjoyable night.

We’ve received some fantastic feedback about the dinner, praising the atmosphere, guest speaker and entertainment.

A few club members said –

"It was an amazing evening, recognising the wonderful talent within our club. Of all the awards ceremonies I have attended recently, this one felt to have the right balance of good food, good entertainment, great company and an inspirational guest speaker.”

“I am aware of the enormous effort and organization behind these important events and their success is totally and rightfully owned by all those who put their efforts to make it a great night. And I must say it was the most enjoyable evening we have spent for many a year. The atmosphere, food, speeches, guests and the friends made it a memory to last forever. I was most captivated by Nicky’s speech.”

Thank you to our guest speaker Nicky Grist, award winners and guests. We are already starting to look ahead to next year’s Annual Awards Dinner.